• The Central Intermediate Unit (CIU) Special Education Department assists member schools in meeting the educational needs of students with disabilities. Special education services include programming for preschool, elementary, and secondary students who have Individual Education Plans (IEPs). 

    Itinerant staff members provide services to eligible students, including speech therapy, occupational therapy (OT), physical therapy (PT), teachers of the hearing impaired, teachers of the visually impaired, special physical education, educational interpreters, and personal care aides.  Services typically include assessment for eligibility, program planning, direct therapy, and consultation. Services may be provided in an individual and/or group setting as determined by the IEP team.  The CIU provides these services to schools on a contractual basis.

    The CIU provides special education and regular education services in our three county prisons, located in Bellefonte, Clearfield, and Lock Haven for students that are under the age of 21 and have not received their high school diploma as well as services at the Centre County Youth Detention Center in Bellefonte.

    The CIU employees a Social Worker that providers services across our three counties. 

    The CIU provides training and consultation services (TaC) to school districts in partnership with the Pennsylvania Training and Technical Assistance Network (PaTTAN) and the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE), Bureau of Special Education (BSE). 

    TaC services are currently offered in the areas of:

    • Assistive Technology (AT)
    • Autism (ASD)
    • Behavior
    • Inclusive Practices (LRE)
    • Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS)
    • Secondary Transition 
  • Michele Hammersla-Quick
    Director Of Special Education
    mhammersla@ciu10.org


    Katie Bish
    Supervisor of Special Education
    kbish@ciu10.org


    Barry Frye
    Data Consultant
    bfrye@ciu10.org


    Ryan Gill
    Educational Consultant
    rgill@ciu10.org


    Cathy Kaltenbaugh
    Supervisor of Special Education
    ckaultenbaugh@ciu10.org


    Leanna Keegan
    Principal of Student Services
    lkeegan@ciu10.org


    Dawn Moss
    Educational Consultant
    dmoss@ciu10.org


    Cherie Neely
    Educational Consultant
    cneely@ciu10.org


    Christine Sanker
    Educational Consultant
    csanker@ciu10.org


    Michelle Shirk
    Principal of Student Services
    mshirk@ciu10


    Lauren Smith
    Educational Consultant
    lsmith@ciu10.org


    Heather Spotts
    Educational Consultant
    hspotts@ciu10.org


    Kim Campbell
    Student Data Specialist
    kcampbell@ciu10.org
    _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Abby Danko
    Medical Access Coordintaor
    adanko@ciu10.org


    Cathy Howe
    Financial Administrative Assistant
    chowe@ciu10.org


    Jamie Russler
    Administrative Assistant
    jrussler@ciu10.org


    Laurie Sparks
    Financial Administrative Assistant
    lsparks@ciu10.org


    Deb Wakefield
    Administrative Assistant
    dwakefield@ciu10.org