Skip To Main Content

Special Education

The Central Intermediate Unit (CIU) Special Education Department assists member schools in meeting the educational needs of students with disabilities. Special education services include programming for preschool, elementary, and secondary students who have Individual Education Plans (IEPs). 

Itinerant staff members provide services to eligible students, including speech therapy, occupational therapy (OT), physical therapy (PT), teachers of the hearing impaired, teachers of the visually impaired, special physical education, educational interpreters, and personal care aides.  Services typically include assessment for eligibility, program planning, direct therapy, and consultation. Services may be provided in an individual and/or group setting as determined by the IEP team.  The CIU provides these services to schools on a contractual basis.

The CIU provides special education and regular education services in our three county prisons, located in Bellefonte, Clearfield, and Lock Haven for students that are under the age of 21 and have not received their high school diploma, as well as services at the Centre County Youth Detention Center in Bellefonte.

The CIU employs Social Workers and School Psychologists that provide services across our three counties. 

The CIU provides training and consultation services (TaC) to school districts in partnership with the Pennsylvania Training and Technical Assistance Network (PaTTAN) and the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE), Bureau of Special Education (BSE). 

TaC services are currently offered in the areas of:

  • Assistive Technology (AT)
  • Autism (ASD)
  • Behavior
  • Inclusive Practices (LRE)
  • Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS)
  • Secondary Transition
  • Contact:

    Erin Cernuska, M.Ed.

    Director of Special Education and Non-Public Student Services

    ecernuska@ciu10.org

    814-342-0884 

     

Training and Consultation (TaC) Contacts

Assistive Technology: 
Contact: Stephanie King - Sking@ciu10.org 

Autism Initiative:
Contact: Amanda McCready - amccready@ciu10.org

Behavior/Learning Environment Initiative:
Contact: Christine Sanker - csanker@ciu10.org
Contact : Dawn Moss - dmoss@ciu10.org 

English Language Learners:
Contact: Melissa Duckworth - mduckworth@ciu10.org 

Gifted Education:
Contact: Brooke Walton - bwalton@ciu10.org 

Inclusive Practices: 
Contact: Kaleena Selfridge - kselfridge@ciu10.org
Contact: Brooke Walton - bwalton@ciu10.org 

Incarcerated Youth Programs - Clearfield and Centre counties
Contact: Kaleena Selfridge kselfridge@ciu10.org 

Low Incidence: 
Contact: Erin Cernuska - ecernuska@ciu10.org 

Safety Care (QBS):  
Trainers:  Erin Cernuska, Amanda McCready, Erin Chapman 

MTSS Math: 
Contact: Jordan Yarwood - jyarwood@ciu10.org 
Contact: Melissa Duckworth - mduckworth@ciu10.org

MTSS Literacy:
Contacts: Kaylyn Massafra kmassafra@ciu10.org
Contact: Stephanie King - sking@ciu10.org
Contact: Jordan Yarwood - jyarwood@ciu10.org 

Secondary Transition:
Contact: Erin Chapman - echapman@ciu10.org 

State & Local Task Force
Contact: Erin Chapman - echapman@ciu10.org